Mothering Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am doing my Master's degree in Education and i have noticed a recent increase in childhood obesity. I have worked in the medical field for 8 years and i see first hand the co-morbidity associated with obesity. I also have a step daughter that has gained weight when she started highschool; which made me wonder why/how? For the first time in a while children are dying before their parents. This is concerning, I realized while watching Jamie Oliver's food revolution that some children do not know what certain vegetables and fruits are. This prompted me into action, I am currently working on my Master's to become an advocate for healthy eating and exercise in school systems. So if you have teenagers in middle or high-school will you please have them take this survey to help with my Master's class and help me create more of a comprehensive survey or design a comprehensive study/ program in the future. Thank you! I would love to hear your thoughts about this growing epidemic. My goal is to collect data and design a study to show the importance of a nutrition class in schools.

Survey link for teenagers in middle or high-school:

https://qtrial2015az1.az1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_8B3X5NXnh82PT4F

·
Registered
9,078 Posts
This is more than a healthy eating and exercise issue, it is a serious epigenetic problem we have here.

I will ask my two highschoolers if they are willing to take the survey.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree and that is why i'm concentrating my master's degree into researching and hoping to contribute to a solution to this issue. My next degree after this is going to in nutrition. Thank you for asking your teenagers.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I would ask my children but they're too young to meet your criteria.
I think it's great that you're doing research that will help children be healthier, I'm always struggling to get mine to eat healthily.

·