Mothering Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm new to MDC and am so eager to get some support! I have twin boys, 8 months old now. Twins are not new to me, I was 12 when my twin brothers were born, so at least I had SOME clue what life would be like!

Dh and I had pretty strong opinions on how we would raise our boys...at least for those first few months. But they became quite ill and we spent 3 wks in ICUs hoping and praying they would be fine. When they were, we just couldn't stand the thought of our original parenting ideas! We didn't want to squeeze our newborn miracles into our convenient lives, we wanted to bend to their needs and raise them as responsively as we could. It's so hard for me to articulate how this whole change in thought happened...

The first many months have been surprisingly easy! We have good sleepers and great temperaments and so the days are usually pretty fun! But there are always those days and hours that AREN'T so enjoyable. They are both crying. They are both hungry. They are both tired. Whatever.

So how do you do it? How do you tend to them both at once? I just can't stand allowing one to cry while he waits his turn! I realize I am one mom with two arms, but there's got to be a way to care for them simultaneously! Lately, our biggest struggle is bedtime. They are both tired and hungry and I just can't give them what they need together. So I try to choose the one who needs me most at that moment, but then the other is upset for the next 15-20min until the first is in bed. Am I making sense?

I try things like sitting close to the one I am not holding. I wear one of them (alternately or whoever needs it most just then) for the better part of the day. i just don't know what else to do! I feel like my poor boys are being jipped of the parenting they deserve and I so badly want to give them just because there are two of them and just one of me

·
Registered
11 Posts