Mothering Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This thread is a support/discussion thread on how we can help our kids achieve a healthy view on their bodies and keep them from having body dismorphia. I'm no expert, I've never been dyslexic or bulimic. But I have been considered underweight when I was a teen and soon after I had my baby I've been a bit overweight. No matter what, people have remarked on my body and I never really feel fully comfortable with myself.
When I was in junior high I wanted to be a Cover Girl model. So, my mom placed me in modelling classes at a local modelling agency. They go on for a full school year. During level 1, I learned so much. You learn all the tricks and short cuts. You learn about job searching and how important it is to research the type of style employers in different countries are looking for. It was an eye opener. I learned how important it is to really pay attention to dates and events, and how important it is to go to show rehearsals. I learned that one the hard way, oops. I've also learned that the modelling industry brings up your self-confidence, then later brings it down. Or do they? What I notice now is that they challenge you. They challenge your strength of mind when it comes to your body. Okay, so I was just told that I needed to relax my style and open my eyes more in photo shoots, and I needed to clean up my eyebrows because the way I plucked them was messy. Of course they were. Young teens don't have the dexterity to make perfect arches unless they went to get them professionally done, which my mom did for me after that consultation.
I never passed level 2. I saw friends from the previous year get jobs and change into snobs who thought they were better than those who didn't have the opportunity to go on out of country jobs. I lost interest in it. My mom didn't want to keep me in something I wasn't 100% into.