Mothering Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to EC. Never tried it, but going to with my third child due in May. I'm comfortable enough with the mechanics of learning something new at home. My daughters are 2 and 4 so I am flexible with my home time. But we are usually on the go with trips to the park, play dates. preschool, etc.

Does anyone have tips for how to practice EC when outside/in public? I'm most drawn to EC as an environmentally friendly choice, so my hope is to not purchase any accessories esp. Plastic ones (or at least, as few as possible :) )

Any info is appreciated!

·
Registered
771 Posts
Oh my, there are so many options, I am sure many people will chime in, but off the top the ones I found most useful (and I feel the same way you do about the environmental aspects):

Where you can, use the outdoors (if dogs can do it, so can children) - my child peed near trees, on highway sides, in the deep grass on a hike, etc.... - this doesn't have to be regular, but it is an okay option - just dispose of it in an environmentally friendly way (bury or take your solids with you).

Little mobile potties - best thing ever made - the one piece IKEA ones (cheap!!) are great - easy to transport in the car, easy to buy 4 of them, even for around the house in each room, etc. I used the same one for road trips and going to places around town when needed, and it just "wiped clean". I would dump the pee somewhere safe and poop - well, back to safe disposal above! My child when young would sit on these ON the car seat, then later on the (actual) car seat, and then later, on the road on the side of the road.... or a park.