Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My ds is 25 months old, and I haven't pumped in a long time. (I really dislike pumping.)

I'm a musician, and I play in two out of town orchestras. On rehearsal nights, I get home after ds is already asleep. I usually only have 4 or 5 of these nights in a row. On any other night, ds nurses to sleep. I don't pump anymore when I get home, and I'm not uncomfortable. I usually leak some when he nurses in the night or in the morning.

In the next two weeks, I have 7 nights in a row that I'll be gone at his bedtime. Should I be concerned about my supply? He nurses several times during the day, too.

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
I stopped pumping when the boys were each about 12 months old. I figures since they were allowed to have other foods by that age, they wouldn't miss the breast milk while I was away too much (2 1/2 work days a week). They just took rice or soy milk when I was at work.

·
Registered
3,892 Posts
I stopped pumping a few months ago. DS is sixteen months old. I wasn't engorged, so I figured, why bother? My milk supply is okay and I have no problem with it if it dwindles and he becomes a bit more dependent on solids

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
You might get uncomfortable, yk? But if ya don't need it, I wouldn't worry. You'll still be nursing him at other times, right? And it doesn't sound like you ALWAYS nurse him down in the evenings. Just go with how you feel.

·
Registered
3,684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've been thinking about it more, and there are really just two days that I'm worried about. I have two double service days in a row. This Saturday I'll be gone from 11:30 AM until midnight. Then the next day I'll leave at 9:30 AM and get back at 1:00 AM.