Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, this is my first post here. I've been interested in TF for a while now and have incorporated many of its principles into our food prep and eating, but I'm still a beginner. Jumping in more fully now since I am trying to replenish my body after an ectopic pregnancy (I had to take a med that depletes folate).

So, bread. I love baking bread and have had great success with sourdough. Apparently I have plenty of friendly wild yeast in my kitchen. I haven't had much success, though, making bread with all whole wheat flour. Now, I grew up eating what in the US would be called country bread, I think. Not the "sponge bread" that comes sliced in packages. So it's not like I miss white bread - I never ate it to begin with. But when I try to make bread with no white flour at all, it just doesn't taste good. It's crumbly, dense, and sort of "heavy" tasting - same with spelt flour. I do buy high-quality, organic, stone-ground, unbleached AP flour. But something doesn't make sense to me. Until the industrial age came along, what kind of flour did people eat, anyway? Sprouted and stone-ground, I know - and "whole wheat," right? So how exactly did they make good bread? For example, I have never eaten a decent whole-wheat pita. The pillowy and delicious pita and other flatbreads I've had that are made traditionally (with a big pan over a fire) used white flour, I'm almost sure. I feel like there must be a traditional way to make truly delicious bread which does not include white flour. Does anyone have any insight? Anyone try grinding flour, like with the stand mixer attachment?

Thanks for any info you can send my way!

·
Registered
2,898 Posts