Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
4,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of moving to Portland. I searched through some of the previous threads about moving but I couldn't find much about the traffic or job market.

What is the traffic like in Portland? How difficult is it to go from east to west during rush hour? What is the best freeway to live off of (job will prbably be in Downtown Portland, Beaverton, or Hillsboro)?

What is the general feeling in the job market? I heard there was a lot of unemployment several years ago. Is this still the case?

· Registered
1,060 Posts
Hi there!

I can't help you with the traffic questions, as we live in the Beaverton/Hillsboro area and I have zero experience with commuting here.

As far as the job market goes, I think it depends on which field you are in, so I can only share our experience.

We moved up here a little over a year ago. My DH is in the non-profit, sports and fitness, youth sports type field. He originally took a job in the development field in order for us to move up here. Once here, he started looking for a new job, as fundraising turned out to be something he absolutely hated.

Anyway, he put in his notice in January and started actively looking for a new job. Big mistake. It is now August and he has had exactly ONE interview. We've had no income since mid-March. I cannot count the number of jobs he has applied for...has been PERFECTLY qualified for, and yet does not even get so much as an interview. Not even a phone interview. The jobs he does hear back about are all pretty much the same thing: "Thanks for your interest, however we have chosen to hire an internal candidate for this position."

I've applied for a dozen or so jobs in the early childhood/elementary teaching field and have gotten no bites.