Mothering Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post here so hello everyone...

I have been battling with head lice on my two girls for the past 6 months. I tried natural remedies such as olive oil and vinegar, and even the products available in the pharmacy - nothing has worked. It is like the little buggers are non-destructable!

Anyone here got a solution I can try that they have seen work? My girls are getting very frustrated with all the "treatments" I am giving them.

Thanks

Astrid

·
Registered
388 Posts
Around here we have people who treat headlice professionally (Toronto Ontario). Is that an option? They told me to comb comb comb with a high quality nit comb. They told me that lice have become resistant to the pesticides in the commercial products from misuse of the products. Also, have you been treating bedding, clothing, toys etc. Anything plush that she comes into contact with needs to be treated too. One more thing. Have you been checking the rest of the family and her close friends. You could be passing it back and forth. Sorry not much time to post right now!

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
HEAT.

Over the last few years, between our 4 kids and the neighbors' 4 kids (who are all best friends) going to schools, churches, sports, the Y, children's museums, indoor playgrounds, etc., we've shared 2 bouts of lice and one of bed bugs. They're similar creatures who've been killed with similar chemicals in the US, for the last 50 years. Both are growing immune to those chemicals. With regard to both, granola parents (like my neighbor and me) have compiled a backlash of home remedies which, in many cases, sound nice (like tea tree oil), but which simply are not consistently effective.

But heat IS consistently effective - even more so than the chemcials - and it's been the common way to combat these pests in non-1st-world countries, forever.