Mothering Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help! I've been doing EC with my now 4 month old for 2 1/2 months now and it's been great... I never missed anything. Now suddenly either she's not communicating anymore or I am not getting her signs... Please help! I feel like I am failing :'(

·
Registered
436 Posts
First, just having one less messy diaper is a success. Second, 4 months tends to be both a growth spurt and teething so no wonder cues would be tricky. I like going to timing when things are tricky. Basically, offering every x amount of time from the last diaper change or catch. That way there are still catches, but without the stress of wondering if every little thing is a sign.

·
Registered
771 Posts
Focus on the communication and offering the opportunities, not how many wet diapers you get.

I agree with the PP. There are growth spurts that distract a child and also make it tough for them (and you) to be on top of their bodily functions all the time.

Secondly, sometimes kids just stop being as interested and you may also not be paying attention as well as you think. Also, not a big deal (there is so much new going on every day).

That is not a failure and catching every single drop is also not the ultimate sign of success.

COMMUNICATION, however, is a sign of success (even after the fact of a miss - talk about the wetness, the way it feels, about changing the wet clothes).

Maybe watch for new signs of communication with your child. They get more sophisticated every week and perhaps your child is trying to communicate in a slightly more complex way with you and you are missing it at that moment, expecting the old tried and true signals.... and hence, imagine how frustrating for the child. :)

But, really, don't fret, you are doing great! Even one catch a day is success, no matter how the rest is going. It will come, it really will.

·
Registered
436 Posts