Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been trying and trying to hand express. I have read about it. I think I'm following the directions. I even try while I'm letting down/nursing. It's not working. Any suggestions?
(I am afraid of a pump. Besides they're $50.)

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
HAVE to start off with, "i'm no expert" but, how are you doing it? personally, i had to roll the girls all around and get sort of crazy until i found just the right hand-squeezing-rolling-tweaking sort of motion that was super effective. many hand/finger positions would not have worked, so it's all about just the right combo. i hate to liken it to this, but it's along the same lines as manual stimulation (of self OR partner) i think we are all very unique and you have to play around with the positioning to get the right ones.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
It's hard. I found that I couldn't get any milk out of my nipple with my hand until DS was almost 4 months old. Then I stood in the shower and practiced squirting milk and hand expressing until I could do it fairly well.

·
Registered
4 Posts
One method would be to put index finger on one side & thumb on the other, almost like you're "cupping" it, and then push IN with regular rhythm. Yes, if you roll it around, you might get some out, but if you're trying to get out a LOT, then you need to really hit those reserves back in the ducts. And if you can FEEL that you have a lot in the sides/near the armpits, then try doing the push in with index/thumb with one hand, and just actually PUSH on the full part with the other fingers of other hand.