Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Does anyone live in Storrs or know about it? Dh is looking at a job there and I am a west coaster- turned temporary Texan dizzy: Thanks

·
Registered
161 Posts
I currently live outside of Hartford (about 25 minutes from Storrs). Although we're moving next month up to western mass I know a tons about the area. If you're looking to buy, look at places like Coventry - a bit more rural and a bit cheaper. Stay away from plaecs like Willimantic. Although, Willimantic does have thier own co-op, but you can join even if you don't live in the city. The area is very much a college area. Not being a mom (yet!) I'm not sure what the situation is like for kids, but as a high school teacher I do know that the Coventry high school system is a good one.
What types of things were you interested in knowing specifically about the area?

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
I love that area. We lived for five years in Pomfret, which is about 45 minutes east of Storrs, but went to church in Storrs. It is beautiful, if you like bucolic.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks!
I just want a feel for how people are there, is it good for raising a family, are there things to do with kids. I am not super crunchy but seek liberal-minded people who are open to crunchiness if that makes sense! I am from Seattle and I miss the community. People here in Texas are super friendly but many (especially where I live) are also wierded-out by things I find to be very sane - like not circumcizing, trying for natural labor, not wearing your religious beliefs on your sleeves, not spanking!

N Conn sounds very beautiful and that is a plus! Anyway.....trying to get a feel for Conn!

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
Mansfield-Storrs is a great place to live. They have a natural food store right off the main road. And the Willimantic Coop is EXCELLENT.