Mothering Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm getting tomorrow my ultrasound
, I'm a first time mom, so I have no experience on this other than what I have read. Do you have any advice? Is there anything specific that I should ask, or should I let the ob (does the ob does it, or is it done by a nurse?) do whatever she knows.

I do have a VHS to record it, so I'm hopping everything will be fine.

thks

·
Registered
229 Posts
When I had my ultrasound I didn't really have to ask too many questions b/c she explained everything in specifics. For me it wasn't an ob nor a nurse..I forget what she said she's calle dbut tha's all she does is give ultrasounds all day. Even though you know it's a baby it's kind of hard to tell what/where everything is if you've never had one done before. Also my baby kept doing flips the whole time so I wasn't really sure what was what
You'll enjoy yourself and I'm sure whoever administers your ultrasound will be informative. Have fun!

·
Registered
580 Posts
Hi, Cuau! Welcome to MDC. I don't really have any advice for you regarding the u/s, but I wanted to wish you good luck. My only thought is that if you are wanting to wait to find out the sex, make sure you tell the tech that early on. Really, they are just checking all the body systems and structures, making sure everything is forming like it should be. I would bring your tape since you already have it, but I've never been allowed to tape any of my ultrasounds. They do, however, give you a couple great pics afterward.

Usually the u/s tech will perform the scan, and then you have a quick follow-up with your doc afterward to discuss the results. I had my big u/s last week, but the baby was sound asleep, and they couldn't see the heart and spine well enough. Everything else they saw looked good, but I have to go back in about a month for a follow-up u/s to check the rest of the baby.