Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

· Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well, we talked or rather, fought about it this morning...i guess communication is not one of our strong points.

one of the things he said this morning is that I need to accept that being tired is part of being a mother, that I shouldn't expect to feel rested. Maybe I should just give up SAHM'ing since he doesn't appreciate it and it's causing a rift in our marriage. Maybe if I had a job outside of the house then, I'd have rights to feel tired.

PS - I've been doing acupuncture and herbs for about 5 months now to help with the fatigue. It has helped and I was hoping that would be the answer to most of my problems, but maybe it's more than me just being tired...

sorry for babbling...

· Registered
2,044 Posts
I'm sorry that you aren't appreciated.

I would say that if there is a chance for you DH to stay home for a few days and be the SAHP, maybe it would help him understand. Doing something for half a day is not the same as doing it full time at all. Also, I have to day, sometimes I am jealous of my DH getting to go to work and get adult time - something lots of people don't consider when they think about being a SAHP.

I would never suggest having another baby before you are ready. You should trust your gut. I think having one to placate DH could easily make you feel resentful and depressed, when you are the one doing all the work (and yes, it is work!).

At 21 months, you could try cutting down on nursing a little in the day, if it would help you cope and you want to, but I wouldn't wean unless you both are ready. Weaning can be really hard, and ending that relationship can be sad if you're not ready.