Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently work at a birth center and this topic came up today and it got me thinking. I am a birth assistant and plan on completing school to be a midwife eventually. I always felt like unassisted birth was a viable option for people that felt it was what they wanted and that midwives are a viable option for people not quite ready for that leap.

Anyway after the chat today at work I thought more deeply about it. For example, I used to think that it would be an option I would consider for myself after my first baby as I have some experience now working in this field for the last four years and plan to continue in it (I have no children as of yet).

But now thinking about this logically I'm just wondering exactly how this would work because if a situation actually came up, how in the world would I be able to explain to my DP what to do and, even more importantly, would I want to put that kind of responsibility on him? I can take that responsiblity myself, but I know my DP would not be able to live with himself if something were to happen to me or the baby. For example, a severe hemorrage, unexpected breech, tight nuchal cord, prolapse, or dystocia (I know these are extreme examples, but they are all possible). These are things that I imagine would be pretty much impossible to handle myself even with experience with them and describing in the moment to my DP (who is very smart none-the-less) would be very difficult. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
3,578 Posts
Well, I think you fall into the category of knowing too much.

Don't forget to factor in your own intuition about the birth. If you felt as though UC was unsafe, I think your body would tell you and you would change your birthing space.

Those situations would be tough to deal with with a midwife, or in the hospital with an OB. They are the rare circumstances, you know?