Mothering Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm close to my wits end w/ this ms and would just really love some relief. i've only been at it for 2 weeks and i cannot imagine 4 more.
i told myself i would take something this time around, rather than suffer and subsequently watch my family suffer--even lined up an ob just for this reason (but we ruled out prescriptions as one's too expensive and the other makes you tired) and while he encouraged the the unisom/b-6 protocol, i'm irrationally hesitant still because i've never been one to take anything in pregnancy, not even tyenol. i guess i need to "get over myself" and hear it's benefits (or not) from others? anyone taking them w/ good results?

aka ladyelms

· Registered
1,235 Posts
Unisom is a sleeping pill and will also make you very tired. I've taken it to get to sleep when NOT pregnant or nursing and it's great for that but I have no experience with it for morning sickness. I'm sorry you're having it so bad

· Registered
2,001 Posts
DDDC crashing...

Unisom was a life saver for me this pregnancy. I know some people can take 1/2 a pill at night and get some relief all the next day. I had to take it 3x a day to get through (up through 18 weeks). It did make me very tired for the first few days, but then I got used to it and was pretty close to normal. I did sleep VERY well at night, though.

I had a prescription for Zofran which I took for breakthrough (I had to do that every few days), but the Unisom kept the day-to-day nausea at a manageable level.

There have been studies in Canada where this is a commonly prescribed combination that have shown no issues with the children even years down the line. One even suggested an INCREASE in IQ of a few points. I'm not sure I believe it, but it was reassuring.

· Premium Member
2,038 Posts
Lotusma - have you heard of RXoutreach?

They do REALLY cheap meds, including the generic version of Zofran.