Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Well, I have a girl (your last sentence sounds like maybe you really want to hear from mamas of boys), but I think your ped may be overreacting a bit! However I'm no expert in developmental stuff, so I don't know, that's just my opinion from reading your post.

At 12 months my DD was pointing and waving, but not saying any "words" at all besides mama and dada and they were definitely not always used correctly. She said mamamamamma a lot, and mum mum for nursing, so I guess maybe that is a word. She babbled but not constantly like some kids, and it didn't seem very complex to me - it's more complex when she 'jargons' now, I hear more phonemes. My ped was not concerned at ALL about her language development at 12 months.

Gross motor, she was cruising by that point and standing from a sit. She walked at 13 months.

She did understand simple commands, bring me the ball, where is the kitty. But not about everything, just about the things we talked about a lot. Now at 14 months OMG she understands so much more!!

Forgot signing...at 12 months I don't think she had any signs except maybe airplane and clock (which are remarkably similar, both with the R hand up in the air!). Maybe she also did 'milk' occasionally - I don't remember. But to be fair I did not sign a lot with her.

She did NOT make any animal sounds yet at 12 months. At some point around 13 months she started doing monkey sounds and now she is slowly branching out to other animals! But most animals still sound like monkeys

My DD has generally been on the slower side of reaching milestones but well within the range of normal. On some things she is ahead of the charts - she was turning pages in books at 6 or 7 months, for example. She waved quite early. But she was not an early talker, crawler or walker. She has her own developmental 'profile'.