Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
550 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a bottle of vanilla extract today, and only when I reached home I realised that it contains 35% alcohol!
: I'm a complete beginner at baking and this is the first bottle of vanilla extract I bought, I had no idea it contained that much alcohol. Is this normal or did I buy the wrong type? Is it okay to use this to make cookies for my dd? And is it okay to use this to bake stuff for a friend with a weak liver (she told me something about having to stay away from alcohol of all sorts)? Please help!

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Most vanilla extracts are made by soaking vanilla beans in bourbon or some other alcohol. So it's normal, but you can buy vanilla flavoring made with natural flavors without alcohol in it. You use them the same way. For your own use and giving to dd, I'd wouldn't worry about it since you usually use only about a tsp per batch of cookies, but if your friend is really sensitive to alcohol, you may want to get the stuff without alcohol in it.

·
Registered
359 Posts
The alcohol in the extract burns off when subject to high heat like baking or other forms of cooking, so really I can't imagine any way that it would have an effect on your friends health. However, you might want to ask/tell her just in the interest of full disclosure.

·
Registered
2,368 Posts
The alcohol content is a non-issue for the reasons that pp's posted above, but if you're really, REALLY worried about it, just go get some vanilla beans and use them instead of extract. Split the beans lengthwise with a paring knife and scrape out the gummy stuff inside, and fold that into your dough or whatever. It takes a few beans, but the flavor is much better.

·
Registered
3,646 Posts
I wouldn't use a vanilla extract made from "natural flavors". That is the food industry term for something made from a certain set of elements on the periodic table that happen to taste like something natural.

·