Mothering Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There are lots of topics here about the waiting that happens when you're trying to conceive but all I'm doing right now is waiting to conceive in the first place! My wife and I want to make sure we're more established financially before we conceive--she's a library technician and I'm a teacher, so we don't get much in the way of income, plus we're spending 40% of our monthly income on debt, so there isn't much room right now for paying for all the things babies come with. Plus we both have educational and career goals that we'd like to begin work towards, so we decided we'd try to start conceiving in summer 2017. This is all well and fine, but we've both had baby fever at about 140 farenheit since we were teens, and now we're both older than our mothers were when they had us. (We're not that old, though--we're 26.) I'm spending as much time as I can hanging out with friends who have babies and doing babysitting, and of course I spend every day with a group of fantastic third graders, but I want my own! The waiting is so hard. :( I'm not asking any questions, just venting, although I'd love to hear from people who have been in similar situations.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I hear you! I feel like this whole process is waiting, and it doesn't stop. There's actually a lot you can do now as you wait. I spent about a year before we started getting as healthy as possible, boosting my fertility, and charting. I got to know my cycle really really well in that year so that when it came time to try, we could nail the timing. Timing is still incredibly hard, but knowing when you ovulate helps so much. (Knowing within hours, not just what day) I recommend the book Taking Charge of Your Fertilty, and also The New Essential Guide to Lesbian Conception, Pregnancy, and Birth

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
24 Posts