Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to cloth diapering and have been using Chinese prefolds with Bummis covers for a few weeks. It is getting more difficult as Izzy is becoming more wiggly and changing her is becoming a battle of wills. I have ordered a few fitted diapers and FB's from the TP to try out a few brands and I have noticed that there are so many diferent fabric choices like sherpa, French terry, organic cotton, hemp, etc. I understand that micro fleece is generally used to wick the moisture onto the more absorbent fabric underneath, but I'm curious about the diferent absorbent fabrics, and how they compare. Ordering right from a lot of the diaper makers websites, it will give you a choice and I wouldn't know what to choose!

What are your opinions on the absorbent fabrics, do you have preferences? How are they different?

Edited to add: What the heck is "Funded Paypal"? How is it diferent than regular Paypal?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Funded paypal is either cash in your account or the money is drawn from your bank account. You can't use a credit card. Some people only have a regular account which won't accept credit cards.

As far as absorbant materials you will find many different answers as to what people like. I like organic fabrics and I'm an organic velour (OV) junky. I prefer my fitteds or AIO's to be lined in OV and the soakers with organic cotton with the top layer being OV. I don't care for organic sherpa, I think it is too thick and bulky. Hemp is nice for it's antibacterial properties and it absorbancy. The only french terry I've had was organic and I didn't notice a difference in absorbancy in the french terry vs the organic cotton.

·
Registered
10,399 Posts