Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to homeschooling and new to this board. I have a question about my 5.5YO son who is in Kindy. He's doing really well with a mostly unstructured learning approach. He's absolutely fascinated by learning to read and science projects. I pretty much follow his lead and provide what I think will support his interests. This first year's been a little hectic....we had a baby at the end of November (but my kids sure know lots about anatomy and birth now!)

Recently (just in the past few weeks) he's been interested in reading clocks and other number-related topics. I've been encouraging this by asking him to describe what he sees: How many cars? Can you estimate how many cows in the field? If I eat an apple, how many left? That kind of thing. He's pretty good at it when there are actual things to see, but he seems to have real trouble imagining numbers. This is particularly problematic with time concepts. I've showed him the second hand, we've counted the 60 marks on a clock, we've set the kitchen timer for various amounts of time. But he doesn't seem to get out-of-sight quantities, and large-number quantities. He's interested enough to ask but I kind of lose him when I start to explain that there are 7 days in a week....he'll confuse days with seconds, and if I try to explain again he'll disengage. Same with things like money. He gets small change, but even at a dollar, he'll phase out and confuse '1 penny' with '1 dollar'....it's all just 1. I'm not sure I'm explaining this very well, to him OR to you!

Am I expecting too much? I'm not trying to push this, but he does seem genuinely interested in the idea and keeps bringing it up. Any ideas of when it might click in, and what should I be doing to support his interest in numbers without frustrating him? I was never very good at maths and I suppose my self-doubt is showing through here.

·
Registered
323 Posts