Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the reasons I chose to breastfeed, is that I knew I had to work, and dd would have to go to daycare. I know daycares are germ magnets, not because I think they are unclean, just because of so many little ones all together.

Anyhow, I knew breastfeeding would supply dd with all of the extra immunity, and I knew that breastfed babies are sick less often, so I knew this would be the best option for us. My son was in daycare, and breastfed, and was never ill.

Well.... dd is sick constantly. She goes from one cold to another. We are working on our third ear infection in just a few months. What is wrong??? Is something wrong with my milk??? Is she not getting any immunity from me??? I am super super tired (dd nurses all night and I don't get more then 5 total hours of sleep per night) is this affecting my immunity?

I'm worried about her. Anyone else feel this way? I am a teacher, so I know I only have 10 weeks left (I'm off again today with her). I just feel so badly for her.

Leann

·
Registered
4,615 Posts
Thr lack of sleep is probably not great for you, but don't beat yourself up - there is NOTHING WRONG with your milk, so long as baby is growing and thriving and having the normal wet and dirty dipes.

Some kids are just more prone to illnesses. Did she have a traumatic birth? Are you pumping? Is she getting any formula?

·
Registered
42,824 Posts

Immunities are not as foolproof when mom is not with baby. You're not being exposed to the same things she is so that your body will cue to make antibodies ahead of time.

The only other thought I have is- is she vaccinated?

good luck!

-Angela

·
Registered
1,468 Posts