Mothering Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been one of those weeks.

I am a lawyer, though not yet admitted to this state's bar. I have to prepare another lawyer for two hearings coming up next week, even though I won't actually enter an appearance as I am not yet admitted. I've taken over these two cases from a lawyer who recently left the firm, and they are not at all ready for trial.

I also have to take a two-hour ethics exam on Friday (the MPRE, for lawyer moms) and have had virtually no time to study.

Usually, I work until 2:30 each day and then pick up DS from daycare. This week, DH agreed to take care of DS each afternoon so I could study. He just started a new job recently, so it has not been easy for him to take that much time off.

Today, we got a call from daycare at 11:30 (which is DS's naptime
: ) telling us to come pick up DS because he had diarrhea. Usually, they don't send a toddler home until they've had two bouts of it, but because it's been going around, they wanted us to take DS home right away. Well, where do ya think he got it, and is he really going to pass it to that many kids while he's napping??! So DH has to leave work a full 3 hours early to pick up DS - I am 30 minutes away, and am going nuts with work and studying anyway.

DH may have to stay home with DS tomorrow if he isn't better. With other kids, this has turned into a full-blown GI bug with lots of vomiting, so I'm freaking out that DS may get really sick and I may not get any sleep between now and Friday when I take the exam I haven't really studied for yet because of work demands.

DH is going to be traveling for work in a couple of weeks, and I'm panicking because we don't have a backup plan for child care when Evan is sick, other than me or DH taking him. My mom is local, but works, and doesn't spend that much time with us. No grandparents on DH's side. No siblings who are close. No friends who don't work.