Mothering Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
10,708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to buying soccer stuff.
My kids are peanuts and I already had to order ds's cleats online because none of the stores here carried his size. A lady at the YMCA told me to get the shin guards that are socks, but my bro's gf's sister says no, they spin around and wind up on the calf. I already bought one pair like that, but didn't get another because it was the last one.

What can you wise soccer moms tell me? Ds is in U-6 and dd is in U-8.

· Registered
9,061 Posts
My 8yo DS (U10s) prefers the simple kind of shin guards that velcro around the calves. He doesn't like the ones with stirrups that go over the ankles.

These are the kind he likes.

These are the kind he doesn't like.

These is what he uses.

Here is a link to an article on how to buy shin guards.

Quote:
When buying shin guards online, get the right fit by measuring an inch below the kneecap and an inch above the ankle. Shin guards are described in length, and this will help you choose the best fit. In addition to the proper length, the size of the ankle cup should be such that it fits closely, protecting the bones of the ankle

· Registered
10,708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by uccomama View Post
Oh one more thing, please have your lo's wear their shin guards inside their socks.

Yes I admit it, I am a soccer mom!

I was thinking that would be good, but can you tell me why specifically?

· Registered
9,061 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by tayndrewsmama View Post
I was thinking that would be good, but can you tell me why specifically?
Apart from the fact it looks silly -- ever seen a professional soccer player with his/her shin guards outside their socks? Soccer socks are designed to hold the shin guards in place.

· Registered
10,708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by uccomama View Post