Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last week, I had my third interview (all three men) where the guy talked *non-stop* about himself for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. I don't mean, "The job entails this." I mean, "I do this, and I'm the kind of person who likes this." To the point that I can't get a word in edgewise, much less talk about why I'm qualified to do the job. Then after an hour and a half, they ask, "So, do you have any questions?" I try to ask a couple of penetrating questions that show how much research I've done on the company, then that's it. It is so frustrating, I can't even tell you. I can't even feel offended when I don't get the job offer, because they know nothing about me except what's written on my resume.

I've been working for over 15 years, and have never encountered this before. Is it my town? Are they taking one look at me and deciding they hate me on sight? If so, why are they spending (wasting?) soooo much of their time with me? (When I asked my mom that, she responded, "Honey, for a man, time spent talking about himself is never time wasted."

I have to add that the HR people I've spoken with ask the normal interview-type questions. These have all been the bosses I'd be working for. What can I do differently in the future in these types of interviews, I wonder? In this economy, it's such a freaking miracle when I even get called in for an interview - I would really like to maximize those few opportunities, kwim?

·
Registered
4,535 Posts