Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have some questions for you experienced parents about wheat allergies:

1) When would you introduce a baby to wheat? We have no wheat allergies in the family, but she is allergic to dairy (as am I).

2) I don't understand the difference between being exposed to an allergen via breast milk and directly via food. If she shows no sign of allergy to wheat in my diet does this mean she probably won't have a reaction when eating wheat?

3) What does a wheat reaction typically look like in an infant? The allergy ring rash?

Lucia is almost 7 months old and we just started solids (baby-led weaning style) about two weeks ago. A couple days ago I gave her some wheat bread, green beans and bananas and the next day she had a bright red, puffy rash on one side of her bottom (about the size of two quarters). It was the 2nd or 3rd time she had wheat and the first time she had green beans. The rash didn't look like the allergy ring she usually gets when I eat dairy. Today it has shrunk to two red bumps like large bug bites.

What do you think?

·
Registered
607 Posts
Hi. Wheat is hard to digest and a common allergen. I always waited until my babies were over a year before giving them wheat. Single ingredient foods really are best at this age especially if there are allergy issues.

Allergens in your breastmilk would ideally be broken down by your digestion and not cause issues in your baby unless you weren't breaking them down for some reason (like a leaky gut). Foods directly given to baby have to be broken down completely by her. She will need the good gut flora, enzymes, etc to be able to process the food herself. That is why it is best to stick with easily digestible foods and avoid things that are hard to digest.