Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
did you contact other midwives in your area? I attended the birth of my BFF at a fsbc w/ a CNM. The assistant at her birth and I had a good chat about my path toward becoming a mw. She mentioned to me that I should talk with other midwives, both CPMs and CMNs about their path. If you did discuss the different paths with mws, what did you ask? I'm very torn about which path I will take. I'm currently a nursing student, and really enjoy health care and nursing as a path, but realize that midwifery can be separate from that. I have been meaning to contact several local CNMs and CPMs and just interview them, but I'm really at a loss about what to say. on one hand, I feel that being a CNM will give me more leeway, but on the other hand I feel like they are more tightly regulated and being CPM may allow me to have more lenient guidelines to practice under. Then there is the aspect that CPMs are not legal in each state, but CNMs are with various restrictions.

Insight and guidance appreciated.

·
Registered
77 Posts
My guess is you have to decide where your heart is and where you want to practice. My understanding is that a CPM, at least in Florida, is an independant practitioner. While a CNM can work in any state, they are not independent and have to have a backup physician. From my limited experience, CNM tend to be more medically oriented. No judgment here on whether that is good or bad. I wouldn't worry about the questions specifically. Talk to both CNM and CPM and see what feels more comfortable to you.
Good luck

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
If you decide to become a CNM, you always have the option to not practice under that certification if the laws are not favorable in the state you are working in.