Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With everyone starting to talk about registries, etc. I've started thinking about having a baby shower. And honestly, I don't think I've ever actually been involved in one (besides attending as a guest of course! But even that I haven't done in several years as I was a chiropractic student without many pregnant mommy friends...and away from home where all my other friends were having baby showers)

So my biggest question right now is who is supposed to host it? I looked a bit online, and it seemed like there wasn't really any "right" way and that it could be either a friend, or a family member. I asked my Mom about it and she said what she always thought is that the family doesn't usually host it as it then just looks like they're "in cahoots" and trying to get gifts for the new mom so they don't need to buy them all! So that it may be better for one of my friends to host it, and then for her and my sister to help out. But she also said to ask around, as she wasn't really sure.

I already have had quite a few people asking me when the shower will be...but not really any of them who are close enough that I would assume they would host and/or help plan anything. I'm also wondering about having it be only for women, or inviting supportive male friends and fathers as well. I kind of feel like my husband deserves to be celebrated and honored too! I mean, he's an integral part of the whole process, and he also wants to be a very involved parent (he's currently reading the Dr. Sears Attachment Parenting book and loving it!).

·
Banned
4,712 Posts
My mother in law hosted my shower when I was pregnant with #1. I thought that was pretty normal? All her friends were THRILLED to come. We had a great time.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·