Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. To introduce myself, I am a grad student in Houston and I am doing some research on women who use midwives (it works out quite well since I am one as well). One of the questions I have is who has been supportive/unsupportive about your decision? Can you share any experiences?

In my own experience, other women who have used midwives are supportive, but just about everyone else thinks I am crazy. Even my husband was only convinced by using a CNM who works closely with a group of doctors.

P.S. If you share, I may like to use your stories in my research but names and identifying information will not be included for your confidentiality.

·
Registered
4,365 Posts
I also live in Houston
This is my fifth child and will be my third homebirth with a MW. By this time everyone has gotten used to the idea that I use a MW and deliver at home.

I would say I got the most grief from other Moms that I know through my older children, they tend to act like I am putting myself and my baby in danger by delivering at home with a MW.

My Mom was very supportive but Dr. Bradley was her OB and she had natural births with him in the 60's so she was used to bucking the system.
The comment she made to me was "The Mommy is me is worried about my baby but the woman in me says YOU GO GIRL"

My ILs were MUCH more open to the idea than we anticipated and once while they were in town the met with our midwife. My Mom also met with our MW and they got along famously swapping stories abou the infamous Dr. Bradley

I have two jr. high aged sons that were born in a hospital under the care of an OB and they think homebirth is the way to go
To them hospital birth seems ridiculous and they adore my MW

If you have any other questions you could e-mail or even call me. You can track me through my business link in my signature

Keri

·
Registered
11,838 Posts