Mothering Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
495 Posts
Here is the recipe I have been using for several years. I started with just a basic recipe and then we modified it by adding in "extras," as we like stuff in our bread. If I need a plain recipe, for hotdog or hamburger buns, stuffing, etc, I leave out the flax and sunflower seeds. I have to tell you that I'm not the best at measuring things, I usually just add extras (always start with 5 cups flour and 1/2 cup gluten) and then check the texture as it is kneading, adding more flour or a tad of water as needed. If you leave out flax and seeds it will probably need a little more flour, but just go for a nice, smooth textured dough, not too sticky.

5 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup gluten
3/4 cup powdered milk (this can be left out, and I've actually had great results without it)
2 tsp salt
2 packages (or around 2 Tbsp) yeast
about 1/2 cup flax seeds, can be all ground, part ground, or all whole
about 3/4-1 cup rolled oats
about 1/2-3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
2 cups warm water
2-3 Tbsp honey
1/3 cup oil (I use olive)