Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the concept of bf a toddler. BF is not the norm in the area that I live, most people that do bf are done before 6 months. I have never seen a baby over 12 weeks bf other than mt dd. Just to let you know how different it is, when we went in for dd check-up at 4 months the ped. was suprised that we were "still" bf. Everyone around me thinks that at 10 months she is too old and I need to "do something about HER so she will stop wanting to do THAT"

With that said, I do not feel ready to quit when she turns one. But I don't want to force her to bf either. I have read some about extended bf and frankley it seems mean to withhold all or most other forms of nutrition and to force a child to continue to bf when they don't show any desire fot it.

Are their any kids that will continue bespite being given food and liquid from another source? What are the benifits of extended bf? Why motivates some mothers to try and make their dc bf ?

·
Registered
686 Posts
Sorry this will be sort of short. But I wanted to answer at least some of your questions. My baby started to eat solids and drink other fluids around 6 months of age I never with hold solids from her and she breastfeed at 13 months. She recieves the antibodies still and breast milk still has nutrition for her after a year. After a year the milk doesn't just stop being good for the baby. As far as why, it was just a natural progression, it seemed silly to wean her when she was happy and healthy just because she turned one. There are some really good info on extended breastfeeding on the WHO website and La leche website, Also Kellymom website is very informative. I hope someone else will post the links for you I am in a hurry. I hope you continue it is really worth it.