Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to Waldorf as a parent. I attended years ago as a young kid. In your experience are the children that attend Waldorf school wilder then your typical child. I am starting to wonder from some of the kids I run into. Also my mom seems to think they are from when I went to Waldorf school. Would you say they are more likey to do things that a child raised conventionally wouldn't do or would get in trouble for doing?

Thanks in advance.
-Heather

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
well, I'm not any kind of Waldorf expert and just have one son starting W, so I am not sure if I can answer what you are asking, but I'll try. Actually- I'm not quite sure what answers you are looking for! what do you mean by "wild"? What age kids are you talking about? What do you think is a "typical" child? What situations are you running into kids in that seem so unusual to you? What is being "raised conventionally" (and do you think lots of mothering.com members would consider themselves to be doing that??) Yes, I imagine Waldorf parents (besides me) let their kids get dirty and play with sticks and mud and climb on trees or what have you and be outside in all weather.

I don't think the kids in my son's Waldorf kindergarten seem out of the ordinary. the kids around our neighborhood seem just as rambunctious as the school friends, just as likely to tease and torment one another, etc. But, there may be some self-selection that goes on- parents who send their kids to W schools are obviously not too concerned with things like early academic achievement, and believe in the importance of unstructured play and letting "kids be kids" for the first 7 years. And the younger ones anyway shouldn't be spending afternoons inside doing homework or watching tv/dvds, so, maybe they are more visible and more active as a result.