Mothering Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>I like many here am an aspiring midwife, I am a pre-nursing student and had it all planned out that I would get my RN first then my CNM and go from there but just recently I was told that if I get my CNM I can not attend home births, this is a major dilemma as I was looking forward to it. I wanted to be able to work in and outside the hospital. Does anyone have any advice or btdt.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>p.s. I LOOOOOVE school so either way i will finish but I would like to get clarification when it comes to the different barriers that are imposed.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Thanks.</p>

·
Registered
193 Posts
<p> </p>
<p>Midwifery laws are state by state.</p>
<p>Look into your state midwifery practicing laws. </p>
<p><a href="http://cfmidwifery.org/states/index.aspx" target="_blank">http://cfmidwifery.org/states/index.aspx</a></p>
<p> </p>
<p>If a CNM cannot attend homebirths in your state, after you get your RN you can then get the licensing and education you need to practice as a midwife in your state.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Having an RN can always serve you well as a credential for the rest of your life.</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
<p>Agreeing with sweet p.  These things vary from state to state.  Also, I know a CNM or 2 who also got their CPM certification, just for the very reason you mention.  Well, they *could* do homebirth as CNMs--but only with physician backup/collaboration.  As CPMs they could be independent practitioners, no phys. backup needed.  Anyway--you can find CNMs to talk to, and/or look into the regs for nurse-midwives in your state.</p>

·
Premium Member
17,022 Posts
<p>When I lived in Maryland, only CNMs could attend homebirths; CPM weren't recognized by the state to practice legally.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Here in NY, you can be a CNM or a CPM as long as you get licensed.</p>

Reactions: ishereal

·
Registered
5,492 Posts