Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
997 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am freaking out about not having enough milk for my ds. He will be 10 weeks old when I have to go back to work Nov 5. I am a nurse working 3 12 hour shifts a week in a very busy ICU. With travel time etc, I am usually gone from 5:45 am to 8:00pm. With my 2 year old dd, I worked night shift. DH usually only gave her one bottle of EBM while I was gone, so I had no problems keeping up with her demand. She slept through the night at a very early age, even exclusively bf'ing - and she is still nursing now. But now I am working dayshift, and I don't know how I am going to be able to pump enough. My goal is to consistently pump 3 times while away. But I know that won't be enough. Any suggestions to make sure I can keep this baby only on breast milk?

·
Registered
438 Posts
I work 12 hour shifts in ICU too (nursing student) and am nervous about returning in a few weeks. I work noc shifts though, then sleep all day. (which has its own complications) Do you have some stockpiled?
In the past with my ds, I pumped every 4 hours at work, both breasts. I would nurse right before I left home and then upon arriving home. If he had eaten recently, then I would pump again. I usually nurse just one side, so I would pump only one side. I usually leave my pump set up in a storage room on our unit (easier at night) or in the report room. That saves time. The three hospitals here all have a lactation room. My coworkers were always awesome about covering for me while I pumped. Might be more difficult for you though if you are one on one. I always packed some easy to eat snacks and took a big glass of water with me to pump.