Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dh and I both got paid this week, and I was hoping that my travel reimbursement would come. It didn't, and that means that I can't pay the mortgage and still have money left for gas and food until next week.
Our mortgage is due on the 1st, but we've been paying closer to the 15th (no penalty) for probably a year because of due dates for other bills. I'm working on that end, but in the meantime, I don't know what to do! I've never, ever not paid my mortgage.

I was thinking about calling the mtg company and asking if we could pay just principal/interest and not the escrow for this month, because I think we have an overage in our escrow anyway (which means they'll send us a check next month). Is this a good idea?

I have other budget issues, too, but I'll post those seperately.

·
Registered
174 Posts
That would be my initial thought although I'm no expert as I've been a homeowner for all of 5 months.

Good luck...I know that must be a scary situation to be in. I hope the mtg company will work with you!

·
Registered
726 Posts
It sounds like you can pay the mortgage if you don't spend any money on food and gas. Have you explored all of your options for food and transport? What is available to you as far as public transportation, carpooling, walking, eating from your pantry and freezer, food banks, Angel Food Ministry, etc.?

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can stretch the food we do have for a bit, but with two teens in the house, buying some food will be necessary. We could probably scope out the food pantry, so I'll look into that. The transportation situation is what it is -- we don't have public transportation in our area, and both dh and I commute 30+ miles each way. Neither of us have co-workers near us.

·
Registered
557 Posts