Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In addition to my breadmachine (see my other post)--I also bought a Salton 1quart yogurt maker. I'm so excited

I've never used one before, so I thouhty I'd ask for hints, tips, and advice from the pros.

Most recipes call for powdered/dry milk--what brand and type is best? Is there something organic/no-hormones or antibiotics out there?

Is there an advantage to either using a powdered starter or some organic yogurt from the store? Seems like "starter powder" costs more than using yogurt as your starter. Favorite brands?

I am used to eating Yoplait yogurt (I know, so sweet and bad for me
). I'm not sure how I'm going to get used to eating good-for-me-yogurt. What types of flavoring and sweeteners should I try? I don't think I an bear to just eat plain yogurt starting out.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
I had a yoghurt maker, but that was many years ago... I now do mine in a Mason jar in the oven...Anyways...

The powdered milk addition is to make the yoghurt thicker and to add more "milky" flavour in it. If you're used to commercial yoghurt, then you'll be wanting to add some in. I can't recommend any though, since I didn't/don't use it.

The yoghurt I make (without the powder) is fairly thin compared to Yoplait, and not sweetened. If I wanted it sweetened, I'd used a tablespoon of jam (for fruit flavour) or a teaspoon of honey, and mix it in. You could also put in a few drops of vanilla if you like.

As for starters, you can just buy a small container (about a cup or so) of regular store organic yoghurt (or non organic, whichever you prefer) and use that. You don't really need any special "starters". I also use leftover homemade yoghurt as my starter for the next batch. Just have to make sure I don't eat it all though!